Pack 4544's
Home Page
About Cub Scouting

Cub Scout Pack 4544
(Silverdale, Washington)
ScoutLander Contact Our Pack Member Login
Scouting for All Ages

By joining the Cub Scouts, you've taken your first step on the Scouting trail.  Many people stay in Scouting, one way or another, for many years.  Some stay for a lifetime.

Cub Scouting
Boys of different ages have different ranks in Cub Scouting.  As you go from Tiger Cub (age 7) to Webelos Scout (age 10), you learn new things and new skills that you use to meet new challenges as you get older.

No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can advance to the rank of Tiger Cub, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos.  A boy must complete the Bobcat requirements, which include:
  • Learn and say the Cub Scout motto, the Cub Scout Promise, and the Law of the Pack and tell what they mean;
  • Show the Cub Scout sign, salute, and handshake and tell what they mean; and
  • Show that you understand and believe that it is important to be honest and trustworthy.
                                                                        Tiger Cub

To begin his path to the Tiger Cub rank, the Tiger Cub (age 7 or 1st Grade) must learn the Cub Scout promise, the Cub Scout sign and the Cub Scout salute.  When he has learned these, he gets if Tiger Cub Emblem, which is a tiger paw with four strings for beads.  He wears the emblem on his right pocket.

As a boy finishes each part of the five Tiger Cub achievements, he earns an orange bead (for den activities), a white bead (for family activities), or a black bead (for "Go See Its").  When the boy has earned five beads of each color, he can receive his Tiger Cub bade.  The Tiger Cub badge is given to the boy's adult partner at a pack meeting.  Then, during a grand ceremony, the adult gives the badge to the boy.

The Wolf ranks is for boys who have finished first grade (or who are 8 years old).  To earn the Wolf bade, a boy must pass 12 achievements.  His parent or guardian approves each achievement by signing his book.  When the boy has met all of the requirements, the Wolf badge is present to his parent or guardian at the next pack meeting.  During an impressive ceremony, the parent or guardian then presents the boy the badge.

After he has earned the Wolf badge, a Wolf Cub Scout can work on the 23 electives until he finishes second grade (or turns 9 years old).  He can choose from more than 100 elective projects that may show him new hobbies and teach him skills that will be useful during his Boy Scout years.  When he completes 10 electives, he earns a Gold Arrow Point to wear under his Wolf bade.  For each elective projects after that, he earns a Silver Arrow Point.

The Bear rank is for boys who have finished second grade (or are 9 years old).  There are 24 Bear achievements in four groups.  A boy must complete 12 of the achievements to be a Bear Cub Scout.  These requirements are harder and more challenging than those for the Wolf badge.  When a boy has earned his Bear badge, he may work on electives to earn Arrow Points to wear under his Bear badge.


The Webelos den is for boys who have completed third grade (or reached age 10).  The Webelos den program is different from the Cub Scout den program.  Everything in the Webelos Scout program is more challenging than what younger boys in the pack do.  Webelos Scout get to work on 20 Webelos activity badges.

 Physical Skills
  • Aquanaut
  • Athlete
  • Fitness
  • Sportsman
  • Citizen
  • Communicator
  • Family Member
  • Readyman
 Outdoor Activity
  • Forester
  • Geologist
  • Naturalist
  • Outdoorsman
 Mental Skills
  • Artist
  • Scholar
  • Showman
  • Traveler
  • Craftsman
  • Engineer
  • Handyman
  • Scientist

Webelos Scouts work on requirements during their weekly den meetings. Once a boy learns a skill, he practices it at a den meetings or at home on his own.  His family helps him at home, Webelos Scouts bring the projects they do at home to the den meetings to show others, and to have the Webelos den leader approve their project.

When a
boy has done the requirement for an activity badge, the Webelos den leader or activity badge counselor, rather than a parent, approves most of the activity badges.  It takes three activity badges, including Fitness and Citizen, to earn the Webelos badge.

Besides earning activity badges, Webelos Scouts can earn the compass points emblem.  This emblem is awarded after the Webelos Scout has earned seven activity badges.  For each four activity badges a Webelos Scout earns after that, he receives a compass point - east, west, north and south.

Arrow of Light

The highest rank in Cub Scouting is the Arrow of Light Award.  Earning this rank prepares a Webelos Scout to become a Boy Scout.  As you work on the Arrow of Light Award, you practice outdoor skills, get physically fit, and learn more about citizenship and working with others.  Webelos Scouts who have earned the Arrow of Light Award have also completed all requirements for the Boy Scout badge.

This award is the only Cub Scout badge that can be worn on the Boy Scout uniform when a boy graduates into a troop.  Adult leaders who earned the Arrow of Light Award when they were young may also show their achievement by wearing a special square knot on their adult uniform.